Life changing moments


Everyone has a point in their lives that has a dramatic impact on them.  It redefines who you are, what you do and how you live your life.  Some people experience the phenomenon on more than one occasion, in my view they are the brave and fearless.

For this post I digress from my usual topic of cookery because I have reached the point at which my life must change.  Not because I want it to, but because I have to.

I’ve had my fair share of illnesses and allergies throughout my life.  I can’t thank enough the medical professionals that are out there doing the things they do on a daily basis.  We don’t always see the work that they do, we often don’t hear about it in the news unless something bad has happened so I thought I’d say…

“Thank you for the good that you do and for the difference you make to people’s lives”.

It’s the everyday hero’s in our lives that make a difference to the way we live, but unless I change the way in which I live then I will inevitably shorten my lifespan considerably.  The crux of the matter is that I have recently been diagnosed as Diabetic.

It didn’t come as too much of a shock as I’d suspected something was wrong, I just couldn’t work out what.  Now I know what I am up against I can take stock of my circumstances and learn how to fight and inevitably beat it into submission.  I don’t see it as a case of my world is caving in, I’m more of the hit it hard and hit it fast until it submits sort of person.  I’m not overly aggressive, I just think that you can beat most things with a good positive mental attitude and a little know-how.  I am only just entering the learning process of how to manage Diabetes but at first glance it’s a learning process and a management process.

From the documentation I’ve looked at so far there is

  • a set of potential risks – if you don’t do anything
  • clearly defined targets – what you must aim for
  • goals you can set to get you there – the steps you must take
  • a plan of how to get there – how it fits in with your life
  • help is available – I like this bit the most, knowing you are not alone on your path

That basically covers the management process.  The learning process is probably the toughest.  Some changes may seem daunting but if I can keep a positive twist to things then I can’t see any reason I can’t do this.  One of the most important things is that it’s easier to achieve success if you’re not alone in the process, which is in part why I’m writing this post.  The other is to let you know that if I skip a post or two, it’s not because I’ve run out of ideas, it’s because I’m too tired to think straight.  Thankfully that last part isn’t going to last long, I’ve already started medication and it’s already having a huge impact, the thirst isn’t as bad and I’m not as tired as I was.  And no, I’m not a vampire, but I do like a medium-rare steak now and then , which will probably be grilled instead of fried from now on.

This brings me back to the future of this blog, or more correctly does it have one?  I can’t see how being Diabetic should affect the things that I post on this blog.  I don’t know how many changes I need to make in my life, that will come to me as I learn about living with Diabetes.

There is a mantra for this … eat well to live well … more on that in a future post I suspect.

For a cake, biscuit and chocolate lover, I think having diabetes makes me a victim of my excess, something we, as a society, tend to ignore.  I will continue to post stories about the things that I love to eat, or as of now, things I would love to eat but dare not – it’s a huge shame because I was going to make some chocolate eclairs over the May bank holiday weekend.

I don’t feel too bad about having Diabetes, I hope we’ve caught it early and as long as I remain positive then I will overcome the illness.  I think perhaps my girlfriend is more disappointed as the flow of cakes, biscuits and other goodies is going to dry up, not completely, but availability will be a problem.  I’m also hoping that I can partake of a treat or two, we will see what the future holds for us.

Diabetes UK is a very good site for information about diabetes.

This entry was posted in My thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

