Steaming Fish


I tend to use three methods for cooking fish:-

Steaming Fish

This I think is my preferred method of cooking a fillet of fish.  It cooks nicely, won’t burn the fish and leaves it nice, tender and moist.  I’ve got my own electric steamer but I only use that if I need to steam a lot using the tiers, placing the items that need to cook the longest nearer the bottom to take the most heat out of the steam.  More often than not I’ll just use my stainless pan on my gas hob with a steamer insert on top.  It’s not as large as the electric steamer but does the job very nicely for a good-sized fillet that’s been cut in half.

One of the important things is to leave the skin on, it helps remove the fish from the pan as it maintains the structure of the flesh.  The only thing I’ll add to the pan are some herbs and seasoning.

Knowing how long to cook the fish for is a skill in itself, it all depends on the size of the fillet and the thickness of the flesh.  The most important thing is to make sure the water doesn’t boil dry in your pan or steamer and to ensure the lid is secure to allow the steam to build up inside the steamer.  I find the lid will haze up, then water droplets will condense on the lid and eventually the haze will clear, at that point the water is boiling away nicely, turn down the heat a little and the steamer is ready for the fish.  Don’t leave the lid off too long, get everything in the pan quickly and make sure the lid is back on ok.

Knowing when it’s done

Cooking times will vary depending on what you’re steaming.  I look for the colour to develop in the flesh, it starts off with a translucent quality and the colour will gradually develop and become solid.  You can easily check once the flesh starts to come away easily, ensure the thickest part of the fillet is properly cooked before you serve it.

This entry was posted in Cookery, Fish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Steaming Fish

  1. Pingback: Spiced Potato Wedges | Fish, Chips & Mushy Peas

  2. Pingback: Poached fish | Fish, Chips & Mushy Peas

Leave a Reply

